Will You Answer His Call?

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been under the weather for a few days, which has left me unable to keep up to date on my blogging here at Canterbury Convert as much as I would like, especially with how inspiring the past few prompts over at The Daily Post have been. However, I’ve caught a second wind for the moment, and I’d really like to get my thoughts on this particular one out.

A few days ago, the writing prompt was darkness, and it coincided with a video a dear Swedish friend of mine sent me. You see, the video I was sent was a Swedish woman performing a kulning call, or an ancient Swedish herd call. The reason for this was the woman wanted to see if cows had ancestral knowledge. That is, would they respond to a call they themselves had never heard before, but their ancestors would have been familiar with?

If you would like to see the video for yourself (and believe me, you do!), click here.

However, as I watched the video, and heard the beautiful, haunting melody of the kulning, all I could think of was how much it reminded me of the way that Christ calls to us, leading us to his light from wherever darkness we may be lost in. Kulning travels over vast distances, since it was designed to call the cows home from wherever they may be. Scripture works like that for Christians. No matter how far you may have drifted from God, his Word will always find a way to call you home again.

Sometimes it feels as though we are stuck in the darkness, stuck in a place where we are deprived from the sight, sounds, and knowledge of God. However, Christ is our shepherd, and as the prayer goes, we should not fear – he will always come looking for us, wherever we may be, so he can bring us back to our flock. If we have faith and hold out through the hard times – the dark nights of the soul – we will hear him call out to us, and all we have to do is follow his call to get back on the path God has laid out for us.

Listen for the kulning of the soul, and follow it, placing your trust in God. He will never lead you astray.

One thought on “Will You Answer His Call?

  1. Pingback: ‘Your experience? A billionth of my own’ | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

